Paradox

Have you ever noticed that the more you concentrate on trying to find something, the more it eludes you? I’m in the process of finding a dissertation topic that is feasible.  (There’s the rub: plenty of ideas, but nothing that will take only 2 years to research.)  The funny thing is, the more I think about it and read the literature of the field, the more confused and muddled I become.  (Might not bode well for my future in the field…)

Ironically, I have become extremely productive in the fine arts part of my life.  I’ve finished 2 projects and am well through a third, and I’m getting ready to start a 4th project that has been in the idea stage for 4 or 5 years.  Do you suppose that we are wired to rest one part of our brain by becoming hyper-productive with the other?  I think I’m beginning to see why Churchill painted and Truman played the piano.  Sometimes you have to change your focus in order to see clearly what you were trying to find in the first place.
I love paradoxes.  They remind me how much I still have to learn about the simple things in life.
Tell me what you think

