Rainy Mondays

Today was a dreary, rainy Monday, which is to say it was perfect stay-inside-and-craft-the-day-away weather. And craft I did!

I’m working on a project for my hubby’s 40th birthday, which is coming along quite nicely. (I’ll post some pictures next week after he opens it.)

I also finished up a project for my son today. It’s a little notebook that he can use to write his “To Do” lists in. He’s a bit of a Harry Potter fan, so I borrowed the “Rememberall” idea from The Sorcerer’s Stone.

The background paper is from the Everyday paper pack by Creative Memories. (I think it’s been retired.) The inside cover is from a scrap of green cardstock I had leftover from a 12×24 sheet by ProvoCraft. The letters are cut at a half-inch using the Cricut Blackletter font cartridge. The Rememberall is cut from white cardstock and inked using Fired Brick distress ink and then heat embossed with iridescent embossing powder. The letters and Remeberall are enhanced with gold, silver and star dust Stickles. I added a red rhinestone that I had on hand to give a finishing touch to the Rememberall, though purists will probably not be pleased with such a superfluous addition.

It was fun putting this together. I just hope that it helps my smart but scattered son come home with all his homework in the future.

Tell me what you think

