Life in Washington DC

This week, our neighbors will be moving to Toronto, Ontario, Canada. They’ve been our neighbors for only about a year, but our kids have gone to school with their’s since pre-K.
Living in DC often means we make friends only to have them move away in 2 or 3 years. On the one hand, it can be very difficult especially when the friends have been around longer than the 2- or 3-year average. On the other hand, we now have a lot of friends all over the country and all over the world that we periodically visit. The hard part for me, however, is just staying in touch. Days get busy, and pretty soon weeks and months go by since the last email or phone call. I’m trying to become better at staying in touch, but this ol’ dog is having a hard time learning that new trick. 🙂 Meanwhile, I’m also trying to teach the kids to keep in touch via email and Skype.
Below are some pictures of the going away album we made for our friends. I didn’t take pictures of every page, but this is a nice sampling. The album itself was made using my Bind-It-All and chip board that I had in my stash. The gate-fold was inspired by this youtube video by Marion Smith at Marion Smith Designs (aka APieceofCraft.com).

The paper used as the background for the front cover is from a package of paper place mats from the Paper Source. Cardstock throughout is by Creative Memories (unless otherwise noted). The title is cut using the Cindy Loo cartridge and the icon is from the Destinations cartridge. The ribbon is from AC Moore, and the faux brads are from JoAnn’s.

(Sorry for the wonky pictures. I couldn’t get them all neatly aligned!) 😦
The inside cover paper is the backside of the place mats. The pockets on both pages were made from a DC map that I distressed with Ranger’s Distress Ink in tea stain. The little pictures and postcards on these pages and on the front are images I scanned into my computer and then reduced. They are from some vintage ephemera I have in my stash. (I love vintage ephemera!) “Write your own story” and the typewriter image are from some rub-ons I bought a long time ago. The booklet and tags are cut from vanilla cardstock. The booklet is sewn together with crochet thread (a great alternative to baker’s twine)and then embroidered using DMC embroidery thread. “Our Story” is from the Reminiscence cartridge by Creative Memories. The tabs are cut using the From My Kitchen cartridge, and the stickers are from Cosmo Cricket.
The bulk of the inner pages are covered in paper from DCWV’s Mariposa 12×12 paper stack. In the example above, I have used a mini file folder I picked up at the Paper Source to create an address book. It’s held close by a paper clip that I decorated with a butterfly image from some scraps of the Mariposa paper. I cut identical images out and glued the bodies together so that the Wings would have a 3D effect. I then added Stickles to the wings for some bling. The large background butterflies were cut from the Potpourri cartridge, and the vellum saying is from the Friends and Family sayings pack by Creative Memories. These pages open up to the back inside cover, which matched the front. I turned that into an area where people could write their well-wishes to the family.
On the whole, I think the album turned out pretty well. I ended up with 4 gate pages and 5 long pages. I think I managed to get around 50 wallet-sized photos in it. The family really seemed to enjoy it.
While the album was fun to make, I really wish we didn’t have to say our fond farewells! Still, I guess that’s just Life in Washington…

Cheers!

Tell me what you think

