Baby Bear

I used to tease my mom about an afghan she started for my brother when we were kids. By the time she finished it, it went to my brother’s son. šŸ™‚ Today I am here to say: Mom, I’m sorry! I have new respect for anyone who makes a full-size afghan using individual motifs. All those joins and tails to hide! UGH!

I started this baby blanket last March. It was supposed to be one of a pair. I finished up all the motifs in about a week (60 large and 18 small, as a matter of fact). Then I whipped up the cute little teddy bear. (I modified a blanket that was in a magazine. I’ll have to post the issue later, I can’t remember it off the top of my head.) I thought the hard part was done. Oh how wrong I was!

I started stitching together the motifs only to realize that the perfectionist in me would never be satisfied with the results. The invisible join technique wasn’t invisible and whip stitching (which is what I ended up doing anyway) was less than ideal. I’ll spare you the rest of the mind-numbing details, but needless to say, there won’t be a pair. At this point, I’m thinking the other 30 motifs will make nice coasters!

The blanket will be auctioned off at the fundraiser that I made the dishcloths for. I’m sure someone will enjoy it. I’m just glad it’s finally done! šŸ˜€

Cheers!


1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Baby Bear Blanket update « The Feast

Tell me what you think

