Went out for a turtle….looked at a lizard….came home with a fish….

So we took Christian to the pet store today to get a reptile. In the process, we found out that pet shops in Northern Virginia cannot, by law, sell turtles. Who knew? (I haven’t had time to look up the origin of that but I suspect there’s a story there.) So we looked at the next best thing: lizards. As we perused the lizards, Brian and I began to realize that we were definitely in the process of biting off more than we could chew. The lizards that can survive the care of curious children happen to be some of the most expensive and largest lizards around. I don’t really have a problem with a 3-feet-long iguana or 2-feet-long bearded dragon roaming about. In fact, I think they’re pretty cool. I do, however, have a problem with the cost (and size) of the tank required to house one of these prehistoric throwbacks. And, of course,  there’s the housing of its food: live crickets. My house, frankly, is a place where crickets come to die. Immediately. But these guys require multiple live crickets daily. And, to my further dismay, I can’t just let the lizards roam freely and munch on all the creepy crawlies they can find around the house. (So much for my eco-friendly extermination ideas.) 😉

So we left Northern Virginia without a reptile, and the family dropped me off for tea with a friend of mine. (She’s a consultant for Thirty-One Gifts, but that’s a post for a later time.) My tea took a lot longer than I thought it would (we hadn’t seen each other for a while), so the family went to a pet store in DC without me. Brian tells me that prior to going, he and Christian had a chat about the reality of caring for a lizard given his room size and the fact that it would have to move to college with him (they live 15 or more years!), and so Christian said he would be willing to look into other pet possibilities. The pet shop in DC had no turtle prohibitions, so those were the first things he looked at. He saw a tortoise that he liked, but it was $100 so no dice on that one. (It was probably for the best since those things could out-live him and what if his great-grandchildren don’t like tortoises…) None of the other turtles could be housed in anything smaller than a 40 gallon tank, so it was on to the fish. After much deliberation, he settled on a red and white Beta. It’s really quite beautiful. He named it Speedo-Skiddo. (Don’t ask. I have no idea!) So Speedo lives in the room next door to Pebbles, but, as they would kill each other, they haven’t met. Yet. (I fully expect the temptation to see them fight will be overwhelming at some point, but here’s hoping that no one gives in.)

He’s not a dog, but he’s company and Christian is very happy to have a pet all his own. Mission accomplished.

Tell me what you think

