Sometimes you just have to make your own

I decided this year that I would kick it up a notch in the home decor and actually decorate our front porch area. I thought I would start with my beautiful grapevine wreath for the front door. I thought wrong. Because this house has a storm door on the front door, my grapevine wreath was too thick! I kept looking for something that would fit, but never found it. So I decided to make my own.

The base of the wreath is chipboard. Since I like to be a little unique, I cut it to a 10-inch square instead of the traditional circle. The paper used for the flowers is from Creative Memories, and was retired several years ago. (I’m making a dent in my stash! YAY!) The buttons are paper from the same pack that I cut in various sizes of circles and hearts using CM shape makers. I then adhered them to chip board and hand cut them. I punched a couple of holes in each with my Crop-A-Dile, and covered them in Glossy Accents to give them a fun sheen. I used some yarn I had on hand for the button thread. My daughter was a BIG help with all of this.

The flowers were made using 12-inch long strips of paper cut at a variety of widths from 1 to 1.75 inches. (Anything wider than 1.75 inches requires a longer strip of paper.) I scored the paper with my Martha Stewart score board every .25 inch before cutting the strips (it made the scoring easier and much quicker). I then fan-folded the strips and clued the ends together to make a ring. I pressed everything toward the center and glued it to a circular base. (All gluing was done with hot glue. It’s just quicker.) I glued a small circle of cardstock on the top to make it sturdier and then added the buttons. Here’s a good video on making these flowers.

“T-H-A-N-K-F-U-L” are button letters that I received in a group of things by Field Notes that I bought at an auction. So cool! I can’t wait to use them on a Christmas project!

Hope you enjoy it!

Tell me what you think

