The Beauty of Digital Stamps

I’m comparatively new to the stamping world, but I have come to embrace it whole-heartedly. 🙂 I’ve been a digital scrapper, however, for several years. I use Storybook Creator by Creative Memories, and enjoy it thoroughly. So you can imagine my delight when I realized that there were digital stamps out there in the ether just waiting for me to download and use at a fraction of the cost of my other stamps!

I wasn’t sure about the whole digital thing until I started following the blog of one of my Memory Works co-designers, Christine Pennington. Christine also designs for some companies that are predominantly use fantastic digital images. After seeing some of her beautiful work, I decided to give digital a try. The card below was a “just-because-I-love-you” creation for my husband.

The image is a digital stamp called “Crazy for You” by That’s Fabulous. I printed it on white cardstock and then colored it with my watercolor pencils and blending brush. The card itself is a 4×4-inch gate-fold in navy cardstock. (The cardstock, by the way, is from Creative Memories.) I layered strips from the Pocket Full of Posies designer series paper by Stampin’ Up on white cardstock to attach to the front panels, and then reversed the layering on the inside for writing my note. The envelope is lined with the same designer series paper. The silver faux brads are from my stash. (I think I picked them up on sale at JoAnn’s a while back.)

I’m enjoying the digital stamps, and have figured out how to use my current digital artwork in Storybook Creator to mimic a stamp. (See the previous post for an example.) It’s opened up a whole new artistic avenue! (Love that!) There are a couple of things I’ve learned, however, that are worth sharing: first, make sure that your ink-jet ink is thoroughly dry before using watercolor on it, and second, the heavier the cardstock, the better. I think if I did this card again I would print the stamp on watercolor paper. Because there is so much color variation (which, of course requires more water), my cardstock warped. This made it necessary to use more dimensional foam to attach it firmly to the card. Still, it was fun to make, and a great way to stretch the imagination!

Hope you have a great weekend!

Cheers!

Tell me what you think

