Keeping Track of Me

I posted in January (here) about a project that I’m doing throughout the year as part of a challenge from my fellow designer, Rosann Elliott. So I thought I’d post my layouts for February and March today. (I still don’t have the album they will be going in, but I’m waiting…patiently…sort of…)

The base paper for February is from the Mistables line by Pink Paislee. The photo mats and journaling spots are from their Vintage Vogue line. The hearts at the top are a combination of Vintage Vogue and Echo Park‘s Your’s Truly collection. (I used 6×6 pads by both manufacturers.) I inked up the background paper, crochet thread (anchoring LOVE), the number 12 at the bottom, and the some of the edges of the embellishments in Worn Lipstick Distress Ink by Ranger. (All blue ink is Ranger’s Broken China Distress Ink.) The letter stickers and pearls are from my stash. The pearls were colored pink with a Sharpee. (The hexagons used for the background for LOVE are cut using a shape maker by Creative Memories. Sorry to say, but it’s retired.)

You might notice that February doesn’t include a picture of me. There’s a bit of a story there. I was so excited by the crocuses blooming that day (something that almost NEVER happens that early in DC) that I took a picture of them, and totally forgot to take a picture of me. By the end of the month, when I finally had time to add pictures and journal, I realized that I had no pictures of me for that month. Doh! Well, what can you do? So I scrapped what I had. 😀

My March layout spans 2 pages, and was designed to meet both Rosann’s challenge and the challenge of another of my fellow designers, Janey Pumphrey. Janey’s challenge was to scrap a “Leap of Faith” moment in our lives. I took that to mean a moment of risk and realized that I am who I am largely because of all of the combined moments of risk in my life. So, I decided to do a timeline of the last 20 years and highlight the risks. I don’t have pictures for every moment, but I added a representative sample. (Can you tell I’m working on the survey for my thesis?) I also took a picture of myself on the 12th to show the culmination of the 20 years of risk-taking.

The background papers for this layout are from 6×6 paper pads from Echo Park’s This & That Graceful collection (pale green grid), My Mind’s Eye Ooh La La for Her collection (bright pink damask) and Simple Stories Fab{u}lous collection (polka dots). The journaling box and “Today” are also from Fab{u}lous (which is, I must say, appropriately named!) The doily at the top is from the Love Me collection by My Mind’s Eye inked with Broken China, Peeled Paint, and Worn Lipstick by Ranger. The bling and ribbon are from my stash. I colored the bling with Sharpees. The flowers that anchor the black and white photo (that’s me on the 12th) were punched from Fab{u}lous scraps with the Friendship shape maker by Creative Memories. Sadly, it’s retired. The white sticker at the bottom that I used for the timeline is also from CM, and also retired. (I’m clearing out my stash! YAY!) The stamped sentiment is from the Believe In Yourself stamp set by Pink by Design.

Hope you enjoy the layouts. Have a great Sunday!

Cheers!

Tell me what you think

