What to do on a rainy afternoon….

Thought I’d share a couple of rainy day projects I worked on yesterday.

My daughter got a cake-pop kit for her birthday, and has been chomping at the bit to use it. So we made the cake dough on Sunday, only to realize that we didn’t have the candy coating and chocolate (which is a staple around here) isn’t strong enough to support the cake on the stick. (Who knew that cake pops required an engineering degree?) Anyway, Safeway didn’t have the candy coating either, so we had to wait to finish them until I could run out to my local craft store and grab some. We dipped and decorated them today. Pretty cute, huh? As much as we’d like to consume all 35 of them (there was supposed to be 40, but ours came out a little bigger than they were supposed to), Mackenzie has decided to donate the majority for a bake sale to benefit Project Rescue. Awesome! (And oh so tasty!)

Speaking of awesome, I also spent the afternoon putting together a little something to celebrate my son. What do you think?

The frame is a 8x8x2 shadowbox. The paper is from the Simple Stories Aweso{ME} line. The 3 boxes are 4 5/8-inch squares, scored at 1-inch on each side. I cut the corners into tabs and glued them to the outside of the box so that they were hidden when it all came together. The paper is from the 6×6 stack. I left the glass out of the frame so that it had more of a shadowbox feel. Below is one I did for Mackenzie for her birthday using the Simple Stories Fab{U}lous line. (The bling is from my stash and colored with Sharpies.

Enjoy!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mydearbakes
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 08:50:59

    I like your cake pops! They looked so yummy that maybe I can finish all 35 cake pops myself! =)

    Reply

  2. maineokie
    Apr 21, 2012 @ 01:50:28

    yummy that looks like fun! and you did such a good job so cute!!!

    Reply

Tell me what you think

