When More is Better

It’s week number 2 for our Memory Works Birthday challenges! This week we were asked to go crazy with embellishments. Since I have about a dozen cards to make this summer, I decided once again to go with the card options. I did a card for each gender. (Gotta be honest, “junking up” a boy’s card with embellishments is not an easy task!)

First, the girly card.

For this card, I used the Simple Stories Fab{U}lous 6×6 paper stack, along with American Craft card stock in pink and a craft card stock base. (The craft card stock was part of a variety pack I picked up at my local craft store.) The flags were made using the Be Happy stamp set by My Mind’s Eye. The “Little Birdy” card is part of the Fab{U}lous paper stack. The birthday stamp is one I’ve had forever. I think it might be Studio G, but I’m not sure. I used blossom, mandarin, honeydew, and Caribbean twine from The Twinery. The stick pins are from BasicGrey’s PB&J collection tags and pins assortment pack. The buttons are from a retired collection by Echo Park.

Here is the card as an easel:

And here are a couple of close-ups of the embellishments:

Now for the boy card!

I made this card using the Awsom{ME} collection by Simple Stories. Even the orange base is from the American Crafts card stock pack that MW sells with this collection. The only things that aren’t part of the collection are the denim twine from The Twinery, the antique brass brads by Recollections, and some pearls from by stash that I colored copper with a metallic marker by Creative Memories (the bold-tip version of these markers in copper and verdigris have been retired, sadly). The arrow stamp is a set called Journey that is part of Tim Holtz’s Visual Artistry Collection. “Happy Birthday” and “Hello” are from Stampin’ Up‘s Your My Type set. (I think it’s now only available as a digital download.)

Here are a couple of close-ups of the embellishments:

I hope you enjoyed the cards and are inspired to go over-the-top with the embellishments. (Sometimes more really is better!)

Cheers!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Darda
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 20:32:14

    I LOVE all the embellishments! especially those banners off the Baker’s Twine, so cute!

    Reply

Tell me what you think

