Something to think about

Last night I was doing a little personal research on modern slavery and ran across the Slavery Footprint website. The site calculates the amount of slave labor that goes into the things you have, do and eat. After taking the survey and trying to be a detailed as possible, my score was 71. That is, 71 slaves are somehow involved in my day-to-day living. Now, it’s not perfectly accurate–eg. I buy local produce, which mitigates some of the numbers, and it wouldn’t let me add all the rooms to my house or (for some reason) our cars. So I’ll work with the 71 number assuming the glitches are more or less a wash.

Today, 71 people are not free so that I can write this blog on this computer, while having a cup of coffee and listening to my music on my iPhone.

Economics, as I tell my kids, are fundamentally about supply and demand. When the demand isn’t there, the market will stop the supply. The market for human beings works the same way as for any other commodity. The biggest problem as I see it, though, is getting one human being (let’s start with me) to value the life of another more than she values her own convenience. It’s a pain to try to follow the source chain for everything that I buy or eat, no doubt. But if it makes one person free or keeps one person from being enslaved at all, is there really a question of what I should do?

My next area to look into is the craft industry. It’s obviously a huge part of my life. I’ll let you know what I find out.

So, how many slave do you have working for you? (Take the survey. It’s an eye-opener.)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Darda
    Jul 13, 2012 @ 10:57:56

    Thanks for sharing. I will share this with DH, history teacher. He would really like this.

    Reply

    • krmhill
      Jul 13, 2012 @ 11:02:17

      I admit I ran to the craftroom and checked my stamps! (SO glad CTMH is made in the USA!) šŸ˜€ I’ve never really thought much about supply chains. (I actually have an advanced degree in International Economics, so I have no excuse.) I’m having a devil of a time tracking the chains in the crafting industry. My family and I are actually involved with International Justice Mission (and our church is involved with the A21 Campaign), but this kinda personalized it a little more for me. šŸ™‚

      Reply

Tell me what you think

