A little birthday wish…

My nephew has a birthday this month. I thought I’d share with you the card I made for him.

I think I got the idea for this two-pocket card from Splitcoaststampers, but honestly, I can’t remember. There are several tutorials on YouTube that can show you how to make it. It’s a regular A2 (5.5 x 4.25) size card. The cardstock is tangerine tango by Stampin’ Up. The patterned paper is from the Bring on the Cake paper pack by Stampin’ Up, and the sentiment is from their Full of Life set (both the DSP and stamp set are retired, I believe).  The stars were punched out using a couple of retired shape makers from Creative Memories. The bakers twine is from The Twinery, and the faux brad is from my stash.

Here are the tags in the pockets:

I used a credit card as a guide to cut slits into the white cardstock of this tag to insert a gift card. The white seemed too bare, so I added a sentiment from the You’re My Type set from Stampin’ Up. (This set is retired, but may still be available as a digital stamp.)

The music notes are doodles I did because, again, there was too much white space. The stamp set is by Stampendous. I used black Staz-on ink and colored the guitar in with a Sharpie. (For all you U2 fans out there: All I got is a red guitar, 3 chords, and the truth…All I got is a red guitar, the rest is up to you…) “Dude” and “Happy Birthday” are my handwriting.

Here’s a close-up of the front bling:

 

Here’s another view:

I ran out of patterned paper, so I couldn’t do a matching envelope, much to my dismay. But I think he’ll enjoy it anyway! 😉

Have a wonderfully creative day!

Cheers!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Darda
    Jul 14, 2012 @ 08:33:23

    This card does say “happy”. Love the idea of the interactive tags. Your color choices are perfect!

    Reply

Tell me what you think

