A Little Peek at the Summer Album

So we’ve had a pretty busy summer, which is fairly normal in our neck of the woods. However, that means that we have a lot of things to go in our scrapbook but very little time to put them there. Anticipating this problem, I sat down and pre-scrapped a couple of our trips using the Simple Stories Summer Fresh and Destinations Collections. Here are a few pictures our the title page.

 

For this page, I used the Summer Fresh simple basics cardstock for the background. I really like the denim paper and wanted to make it go a little farther, so I cut an 8×8-inch square out of the middle and set it aside for later use. I covered the hole with the yellow cardstock from the same pack. The banner is cut from the signature elements papers, as is the burlap strip. The awesome plaid background is from the designer cardstock, and the denim border and pinwheels are from the fundamentals cardstock stickers. The title was made using the expression cardstock stickers, which is also the source of the little word flags. For the tag, I cut down a cute little card from the signature elements. All of these papers and stickers can be bought together in the collection pack. The little pocket is from the assorted memorabilia pockets pack. I didn’t adhere the pocket to the page because I want it to be interactive rather than behind the page protector. I attached it to the outside of the protector so that the tag can be accessed without removing the page from its protector. The stamp is by Unity, and the bakers twine is by The Twinery.

Here are some close-ups:

 

 

 

For this element, I stamped the image on the page using VersaMark watermark/embossing ink and then heat embossed the image using white embossing powder by Stampin’ Up. I then stamped the image on a scrap piece of paper and cut out the pieces that I wanted to use for paper piecing. Using repositionable adhesive, I attached the template to a variety of papers from the Summer Fresh 6×6 paper pad, cut around them, removed the template piece, and adhered them to the page. I added the pearl and flag for a little extra whimsy, and anchored the image to the page with doodle marks.

So there you have it. The beginning of the album. I’ll have pictures from the other layouts up soon.

Have a great rest of the week!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Darda
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 17:59:15

    So cute. Love that little banner on top of the umbrella and the title page is great!

    Reply

Tell me what you think

