30 in 30 Memory Works Card Challenge: Day 3

 

Hey Folks! We’re 3 for 3 on the 30 in 30 Challenge as of today. Make sure you go to the Memory Works Blog to see Caroline’s beautiful creation and the Page Maps card sketch that inspired it. You can also find it (and oh so much gorgeous inspiration for your crafting pleasure) at Caroline’s blog, Caroline’s Craftiness.

Here is my take on the sketch:

 

I ended up simplifying the sketch a bit. (When you visit the Memory Works blog, you’ll see that I didn’t add in the safety pinned elements. The beauty of using a sketch is that it is meant to inspire, you can be as true to it as you wish. Love that flexibility.) I used papers from Bo Bunny’s Rejoice Collection. Again, with cards I prefer using 6×6 paper pads, especially for background papers with writing such as the ones used here. The 6×6 papers are scaled perfectly for the A2 card. I added a little visual interest using the Martha Stewart Loops punch around the page set. (In my opinion, punches are one of the biggest bang-for-the-buck tools in the paper-crafter’s tool box. Second mainly two a die cutting machine like a Cricut, but that’s a blog post for another time!)

I added a little Leaf Green cardstock by American Crafts to separate the patterned papers and make it easier on the eyes. The used the Scallop Oval and Large Oval punches by Stampin’ Up! to shape the element for the sentiment from Colonial White cardstock (by Close To My Heart) and Bo Bunny paper. The sentiment is from a retired Close To My Heart stamp set called Tag the Occasion. (If you can find it, it’s a great little set to have!) I inked around the edges of all the elements except the loops with Cocoa Exclusive Ink by CTMH, and stamped the sentiment in the same color. Here’s a close up:

 

 

Finally, I added some pearls from my stash and called it done! It was a fun and simple card to make. I hope you’re inspired to get crafty this weekend.

Cheers!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Darda
    Nov 03, 2012 @ 15:12:58

    Very pretty!

    Reply

Tell me what you think

