30 in 30 Memory Works Card Challenge: Day 17

Woo Hoo! The weekend is here! Time to get crafty with another Memory Works blog challenge. The Page Maps sketch was chosen by designer par excellence Sheri Feypel. (Sheri is also the one that does such a great job coordinating all our challenges and blog hops for Memory Works! Yep, she’s one impressive designer!) To be further inspired by Sheri, visit her at The Desperate Scrapper.

Here’s my take on the today’s sketch:

The pattern paper is from Bo Bunny’s Rejoice Collection. (6×6 pad, of course.) The background is cut at 5 1/4 x 3 3/4 inches. I then added a strip of pattern paper cut at 2 5/8 x 3 3/4 inches and edged with the deco scallop edger by ek success. I then cut a 2 x 3 3/4-inch strip of Colonial White cardstock and ran it through my Cuttlebug using the Polka Dots embossing folder. I wrapped a little Maraschino bakers twine from The Twinery around it and left the strings long enough to add the mittens. Using the Artiste Cricut cartridge by Close To My Heart, I cut out four mittens. I stamped two in Cranberry Exclusive ink and hand cut the cuffs off them. Then I used the second-generation stamping technique (sometimes referred to as “stamping off”) to create a lighter shade of Cranberry. I then attached the darker cuffs and adhered the two together. I punched a little hole at the top of the mittens, added a snowflake brad from Teresa Collins’ Christmas Cottage collection and tied them to the card with the bakers twine. I used a little dimensional adhesive to hold the mittens where I wanted them on the embossed cardstock and then used more dimensional adhesive to pop the whole piece up on the base. I created a little banner to hold the sentiment and tucked it under the cardstock. Both the mittens and the sentiment stamps are from the Close To My Heart October Stamp Of The Month set.

Here’s a close-up:

Have a great Saturday, and don’t forget to create something beautiful!

Cheers!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Darda
    Nov 17, 2012 @ 08:45:51

    New fave…love, love, love those mittens and that brad/twine bow. You are coming up with some awesome cards!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: 30 in 30 Memory Works Card Challenge: Day 24 « The Feast

Tell me what you think

