30 in 30 Memory Works Card Challenge: A Little Catching Up

 

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! I hope you are having a good, relaxing and peaceful day. We’re having an unusually quiet day around here, so I thought I’d catch up on the Memory Works Card Challenge. (Okay, it’s also because we finally got the internet fixed…more or less….)

We’ll start with today’s card challenge brought to us by the fantastically talented Jade Wilson, using a sketch from Retro Sketches. Be sure to visit Jade at The Scrapyard Rose for more inspiration. To see the sketch and Jade’s inspiring card, visit the Memory Works blog.

So here’s my take:

 

I’m really enjoying the whole snowflake thing this year. Can you tell? 😉 For this card I used Bo Bunny’s Rejoice paper (6×6 pad, of course) and some evergreen cardstock from my stash. The snowflakes were made from a punch by Creative Memories, which has long-since retired, and accented with silver stickles. (I think CM has a new snowflake punch that looks a bit different.) The images are stamped in silver ink using a retired Close To My Heart stamps set called “Snow Flurries.” The red bling is from my stash.

Here’s a close-up:

 

Simple, but fun!

Yesterday’s card challenge (from the 21st) was brought to us by the über-creative Cathie Hollins, using a sketch from Mojo Monday (a challenge favorite here at The Feast). You can catch up with Cathie at That’s No Scrap. (Be prepared to be inspired!) For the Memory Works challenge, you can visit the Memory Works blog for November 21st.

Here’s my interpretation of Cathie’s challenge:

The pattern paper is from the Christmas Cottage collection by Teresa Collins. The brads are from the same collection. I used Olive and Rouge cardstock by American Crafts. The crochet trim is from my stash. The stamp set is CTMH Snow Flurries (retired) and is stamped in Olive Exclusive ink.. For the oval accent piece, I used the Large Oval and Scallop Oval punches from Stampin’ Up.

Here’s a little close-up:

 

Our Memory Works challenge for the 20th was brought by the enormously talented Jody Spiegelhoff. You can be inspired by Jody daily at Spiegel Mom Scraps. Jody used a sketch by Sketch Support as inspiration for her beautiful creation on the Memory Works blog.

Here’s my take:

 

For the background, I used the washi tape from Teresa Collins’ Christmas Cottage collection. The patterned papers are from the collection’s 6×6 pad. I used my snowflake punch and pearls from my stash for the snowflakes, and a red gem brad from the collection to add a finishing touch to the journaling card. The sentiment is from the CTMH stamp set “Bundled Buddies” (retired). This is one of my favorite cards!

Here’s a close-up:

 

I cut the journaling card from the snowflake pattern paper in the collection. That’s one of the great things about using the 6×6 pad for cards. You can cut the images so they look like they were created for your specific purpose. 🙂

Now for the final card, and then we’re all caught up! Our challenge for the 19th was brought by the fabulous Caroline Piercy. You can be inspired by Caroline in all your paper and fabric crafting at Caroline’s Craftiness. Caroline used a fun little Page Maps sketch for her beautiful creation, which you can see on the Memory Works blog.

Here’s my take:

 

This card was a blast to make, especially using Lily Bee‘s Christmas Cheer collection! The 1-inch squares are punched from Pool and Leaf cardstock by American Crafts. The snowflakes are from White Daisy cardstock by Close To My Heart and accented with Christmas red and lime stickles. The banner title is stamped in Pear Exclusive pigment ink by Close To My Heart using the October Stamp Of The Month set, and layered on CTMH Silver Shimmer Trim (think glittery washi tape!).

Here’s a close-up:

Love this card!

Well that catches us up on the Card Challenges. I hope you enjoyed it and are inspired to create beautiful things over the holiday!

Happy Thanksgiving!

Cheers!

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Darda
    Nov 22, 2012 @ 11:42:48

    Great cards! The one with Jody’s sketch is my fave. Love how you made those strips with the little banner cuts on the end. Lovely! Happy Thanksgiving!

    Reply

Tell me what you think

