Cut from the same….paper?

Here at the Hill House, we encourage our kids (and anyone else under our roof) to be themselves. That is, no matter how much they may look like younger versions of us, they should pursue their own dreams and talents. Sometimes, though, our talents and interests do overlap. Such is the case with my daughter and crafting. πŸ™‚ I have to be honest, I’m glad she’s right there with me in the paper and glue department!

So today I wanted to share a little card she made for one of her friends’ 11th birthday. (She based it off the one I gave her for her 10th birthday last year. You can see that here.) All the design choices were her own. I helped a little with the construction, but only verbally. She did it all! πŸ™‚ I’m very proud of her!

mhh bday card1

The base is Close To My Heart’s Lagoon cardstock cut at 4 1/4 x 5 1/2 inches. The pattern paper is from the Be You collection by Fancy Pants. (This will go down in history as one of our favorite collections! I’m really having a hard time not hoarding it!) πŸ˜€ She cut the tag from Pear cardstock (also by CTMH). The “happy birthday” sentiments were typed on the typewriter she rescued on a dumpster dive. (That’s a tale to tell at some point….) The yellow cardstock (from my stash) was punched with the scallop heart and notebook punches from the Knock Out collection by American Crafts. “A little birdie told me…” stamp is from the Life is Tweet stamp set (retired June 2012 Stamp Of The Month), and was stamped in CTMH Black Exclusive Ink. It looks like it was made for this paper collection!

Here’s a close-up of the front:

mhh bday card2

And here’s the card in action:

mhh bday card3

mhh bday card4

mhh bday card5

 

The inside sentiment, party hat, and flowers on the tag are all from the Life is Tweet set. She added stitching and accents with a white gel pen, and then used bakers twine as a pull tab.

Is my girl creative or what?!? πŸ˜€ Love it! We’re definitely cut from the same clothΒ paper on this one. (I know…I can hear your groans from here, but it had to be said!)

Thanks for letting me brag a little. Have a wonderfully creative Saturday!

v&s_sig

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Darda
    Jan 26, 2013 @ 09:44:08

    Awww, how sweet! This card is so creative! The apple didn’t fall from the tree in this family! Now I know we have one more thing in common. I’m kinda proud my daughter is an artist, even if she chooses cloth and yarn over paper, lol. What a fun post and tell your daughter “great card”!

    Reply

  2. Cathie
    Jan 26, 2013 @ 11:55:21

    Very sweet card! What a talented young lady!

    Reply

Tell me what you think

