A Fun & Fabulous New Challenge!

Hey folks! I’m sorry to be MIA for so long. No excuse but busy-ness I’m afraid. šŸ˜¦

Blog Badge

I wanted to let you all know about a new challenge blog that’s up and running. It called Rose Blossom Garden and it’s all about the Cricut. I’m designing for it over the next few months (my designs will show the 15th through the end of the month each month), as is my ƜBER-talented friend, Lynn Darda (her designs show the 1st through 14th of each month).

I thought I’d show you what I created for the inaugural challenge:

RBGchal040113a

The challenge was to create with the “Happy Birthday” key on the Artiste Cricut Cartridge by Close To My Heart. (If you don’t have this cartridge, I HIGHLY recommend it! You can get the collection–the cartridge and coordinating stamps and chipboard goodies–here.)

So let’s take a look at the project:

RBGchal040113b

I used “fit to page” to cut out the hot air balloon. The size turns out to be 11 1/2 inches. I cut the base layer out of heavy cardstock from my stash and chipboard, and glued them together to make the layer more sturdy. I covered it with patterned paper from theĀ Studio CalicoĀ Snippets line. The balloon and sun papers are from the theme set, and the clouds and banners are from the 6×6 paper pad. The clouds and sun are cut from chipboard at 3 1/2 inches using the “real dial size” button. I then cut the sun from patterned paper using the same setting. I could have cut the patterned paper for the clouds using the Cricut, too, but since I wanted the pattern to go a certain way, I glued the chipboard to the paper and cut around it with scissors. I attached the clouds to the back of the balloon using foam tape to give it dimension. I inked around the edges of the clouds with Twilight Exclusive Ink and around the balloon base using Ruby Exclusive Ink, both by Close To My Heart. I inked around the top layer of the balloon with Honey Exclusive Ink and popped it up with foam tape. The basket is connected to the main part of the balloon using hemp twine from my stash. The sun is also mounted behind the balloon with foam tape, and inked with Ruby Exclusive Ink.Ā 

I created a hanger for the project using Color-Ready Seam Binding Ribbon by Close To My Heart. I punched two holes in the balloon using my Cr0p-a-dial and added some eyelets for extra security. I wanted it to have a little extra pizzaz so I added a couple of buttons from my stash over a hemp twine bow. (The top button is from CTHM. It’s a wooden badge from mini-medley accents that I inked up with a little Sunset Exclusive Ink.)

I then added a couple of pennants from the SnippetsĀ 6×6 paper pad (LOVE that rainbow look!), and stamped “hello” and “sunshine” in Sunset Exclusive Ink using the Patterned Pennants stamp set by Close To My Heart. (Lovin’ that font!) I lightly inked around the pennants with Twilight Exclusive Ink and added some twine and buttons for flair. I then popped them up with foam tape.

The “happy day” banner is made from papers from the 6×6 pad using the Pennant Builder Punch by Stampin’ Up. (If you have the CTMH Art Philosophy cartridge, you can cut the banner from that. I was being a little lazy, so I used my punch!) I inked the edges with Ruby Exclusive Ink for a little extra pop and used foam tape for dimension. For the letters, I used the CTMH Glamour Lowercase Alphabet stamp set stamped in Ruby Exclusive Ink.

How about some close-ups:

RBGchal040113i

RGBchal040113h

RBGchal040113c

RBGchal040113d

RGBchal040113g

RBGchal040113f

RBGchal040113e

When my daughter saw it she asked me if it should read: “happy day” “hello sunshine” or “hello! happy day, sunshine!” I hadn’t really thought about it until then. I think I like the latter!

So I hope you enjoyed this project. Don’t forget to go check out the blog and play along!

And… HAPPY DAY, SUNSHINE!

Cheers!

 

 

 

 

v&s_sig

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. audreypettit
    Jun 22, 2013 @ 08:36:56

    I just popped over to say hello, Kim, and to thank you for stopping by my blog this week. I am really enjoying your blog. This hot air balloon project is sooo amazing!

    Reply

Tell me what you think

