Taking up the Rose Blossom Garden Challenge


Blog Badge

Hi folks! The ladies over at the Rose Blossom Garden have another challenge for the month of April. The key of choice this time is the Mother’s Day key from the Close To My Heart Artiste Cricut Cartridge. I was privileged to design a project for this challenge, which you can see on the Rose Blossom Garden blog here.

I had a lot of fun thinking outside the box for this month’s challenge, so I thought I would use the key to make a shaped card. Here’s what I came up with:

RBGAprilchal2a

The supplies on this card, unless otherwise noted, are from Close To My Heart. The base of the card is cut at 4 inches using the “real dial size” setting. I cut 2 bases from White Daisy cardstock, and scored one at 3/4 inches. I adhered the two together above the score line, and covered the card front with patterned papers from the Chantilly paper pack. The pink patterned layer is cut at 3 3/4 inches, and the doily is cut at 3 inches from White Daisy cardstock. The tulip is made from 3 tulip shapes cut at 1 inch from Chantilly patterned paper. (For a brief tutorial on making the tulips, see this post at Violets & Sunshine. I used diamond stickles around the edges for a little sparkle. The leaves are cut at 2 inches and I hand cut a little stem, all of which were cut from the green patterned paper in the Chantilly paper pack. I added Color-Ready Seam Binding Ribbon and tied a bow. I then added a bling button (retired) with a Lagoon sparkle in the middle. The pins are also Close To My Heart but have been retired (much to my dismay). I added a little tag to the card for the Hello sentiment, which is from the “A Garden” stamps set. The tag cut is also found on the Mother’s Day key! I used a little crochet thread to add a different texture to the project.

Here are some close-ups:

RBGAprilchal2b

RBGAprilchal2d

RBGAprilchal2e

And here it is again in full:

RBGAprilchal2c

I hope you enjoyed my little hello. And to all those who are still dealing with frigid weather, I hope this brings you a little taste of spring! Don’t forget to drop by the Rose Blossom Garden and play along!

Cheers!

v&s_sig

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Darda
    Apr 17, 2013 @ 17:41:37

    Just beautiful! Love the detail shots.

    Reply

  2. Tammie Chelberg
    Apr 17, 2013 @ 18:24:45

    I just love this box. It is perfect for anything. The details are perfect.

    Reply

  3. Kim
    Apr 18, 2013 @ 12:10:08

    All I can say is…..STUNNING!!!!!! You are awesome! I love how you created the 3D flower.
    Blessings,
    Kim xXx

    Reply

  4. Peggy Lee
    Apr 26, 2013 @ 19:14:56

    oh my gosh I love your card, love the glitter…and the bling….hugs Peggy Lee

    Reply

  5. Cindy Dale
    May 01, 2013 @ 07:14:34

    Great card Kim!

    Reply

Tell me what you think

