Hello!…’50s Style

Hi All! It’s time for another die cut challenge from Stuck On U Sketches. This time it’s all about the Nifty Fifties! That’s right dust off those poodle skirts and saddle shoes and get creative!

Cricut has a cartridge all about the Fifties, but I don’t have it. So I decided to use an image from the From My Kitchen cartridge, which is chock full of retro images (mostly kitchen appliances for obvious reasons). So here’s what I came up with:

SOUS62813a

 

The base card is made from White Daisy cardstock and layered with Black cardstock. I used a scrap of teal polka dot print from Echo Park’s This & That Graceful collection to layer on the Black cardstock. (I decided to go with the 1950’s Miami Beach color scheme.) The telephone is cut at 3 inches from Blush, Lagoon, and White Daisy cardstocks using the From My Kitchen Cricut Cartridge. I did a little tone-on-tone inking with Close To My Heart’s Blush pigment ink. Then I used bitty black sparkles on the phone dial and some Silver Shimmer Trim for some extra bling. “Hello!” is stamped in Black Exclusive Ink using a retired retro alphabet stamp set by Close To My Heart.

Here are some close-ups:

SOUS62813d

SOUS62813e

SOUS62813c

 

And here’s the card, once again:

SOUS62813b

 

Hope you enjoyed my simple little retro hello! Don’t forget to go by Stuck On U Sketches to play along with our Nifty Fifties challenge and to be just generally inspired by our fantastic design team to go and create beautiful things!

Cheers!

v&s_sig

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Margie Calenda
    Jun 28, 2013 @ 07:12:45

    Love that phone cut and the colors are definitely Fifties. Really cute card!

    Reply

  2. Lynn Darda
    Jun 28, 2013 @ 12:38:43

    This is quite fun!

    Reply

  3. audreypettit
    Jul 08, 2013 @ 10:13:07

    What a cute and fun card! These colors absolutely scream retro, and I love the old timey phone cut! Adorable!

    Reply

Tell me what you think

