Teaching My Chickadee to Fly

Hello All!

So my lovely daughter is heading off to middle school in the fall. She’s pretty nervous about the whole thing. In my day, middle school was Junior High and didn’t start until 7th grade. The learning curve between grades 6 and 8 makes the whole concept of middle school weird to me, but hey, I don’t get to decide these things.

I can understand being on the nervous side, so for her 5th Grade “Graduation” I decided to make my daughter a little book of encouragement. Today I thought I’d share the bag that her book goes in. (I’ll share some of the book later.)

MHH5thgradeGradgift1

In addition to the paper crafting that you often see here, I like to stitch and paint and play with lots of different media. For this project, I decided to doodle using the embroidery floss in my stash. I also tried to play around with different stitches. Here are a couple of close-ups:

MHH5thgradeGradgift10

MHH5thgradeGradgift11

(It’s funny, she uses the bag to carry everything in besides the book.) 🙂

I have to say, I didn’t really enjoy junior high. It’s such an awkward age. The people you thought were your friends, aren’t so much anymore. The teasing and meanness is absolutely astounding. This is an age when you can never have too much encouragement or reminders of the Truth. It’s hard to remember that sometimes as a parent. So I suppose this little project is as much a reminder to me as it is an encouragement for her. It reminds me that some days she’s going to feel like she’s not enough, like she can’t fly. She’s going to feel scared and small. And those are likely to be the days when she lashes out at me and the rest of the family. Those are the days when I need to remember who she REALLY is and to remind her (as gently as I can) of that Truth. So this little project is a good lesson for both of us. And I have a feeling we’ll both need it.

Hope you enjoyed a peek into my other craftiness. Have a fabulously creative day!

Cheers!

v&s_sig

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Darda
    Jul 09, 2013 @ 15:52:11

    Whimsical and lovely!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Teaching My Chickadee to Fly Part 2 | The Feast

Tell me what you think

