For the Mr & Mrs

It’s time for the July 12th Stuck On U Sketches Die Cut Challenge!!!

Hi All! Are you ready to play? This week’s challenge is all about the Flourish. Let’s face it, life is just plain more fun when you add a little flourish. So that’s your challenge…(and not a bad metaphor either…)

Here’s my take on the challenge:

SOUS71213a

I decided to use the Flourish theme to create an easel wedding card for a friend. The card base is a 4 x 8-inch strip of White Daisy cardstock, which I scored at 2 and 4 inches, and folded in half. I covered a 4-inch square of White Daisy with a 4-inch square of For Always paper by Close To My Heart to use as the back ground for the front layer. I then used a 3 1/2-inch square of White Daisy for the sentiment and design. The Twilight and Sorbet cardstock flourishes were cut at 3 inches using the CTMH Art Philosophy Cricut cartridge (see page 58 of the cartridge manual). The Hollyhock cardstock roses are cut at 1 1/2, 1 3/4, and 2 inches using Art Philosophy (page 68). I layered the flourishes and offset them so that they would have a little bit of a shadow effect. (To do this, you really need to make sure to cut them at the same size.) I then added the roses. I stamped “Mr” and “Mrs” in Twilight Exclusive Ink (which I also used to ink around the edges of the patterned paper base layer) using the retired Classmate Alphabet stamp set. The ampersand (&) is stamped in Sunset Exclusive Ink (Sorbet wasn’t quite bright enough) using the Trinity Alphabet stamp set by Close To My Heart. (This set is retiring, so you should pick it up soon if you don’t have it yet.) And, of course, it’s not flourished enough without some bling, so I added sparkles to the cardstock flourishes and roses, and Sparkle Flourishes to the card. I popped the whole thing up on the front with some dimensional adhesive. I then attached the bottom half of the panel to the bottom 2-inch section of the front of the base and mountain folded it on the 2-inch score line like an easel.

SOUS71213c

For the “stopper,” I glued a 1 x 4-inch strip of For Always patterned paper to the inside card base. I inked around the edges of the patterned paper and the White Daisy cardstock (cut at 5/8 x 3 1/2 inches) using Twilight Exclusive Ink. I added Twilight and Sorbet cardstock flourishes to the White Daisy piece. These flourishes were cut at 1 inch using the Art Philosophy cartridge (page 59). I then stamped the sentiment (from the retired Avonea Cardmaking Workshop On The Go) on White Daisy cardstock in Twilight and Sunset Exclusive Inks. I cropped the Twilight phrase as close to the “so…together” letters as I could and fussy cut “happy” from the Sunset phrase. I layered the “happy,”  the whole phrase, and the white, flourished base onto patterned paper using dimensional adhesive between each layer. I added a little bling to the flourishes and voilà: A card and a little home decor all wrapped up together!

Here are a couple of close-ups:

SOUS71213b

SOUS71213d

SOUS71213e

And here’s the front once again:

SOUS71213f

Hope you’ve been inspired to add a little flourish to your summer! Don’t forget to hop on over to Stuck On U Sketches and play along with our challenge!

Cheers!

v&s_sig

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Darda
    Jul 12, 2013 @ 09:26:26

    What a lovely card. I never would have thought about putting those two colors together with “For Always” but you make it work! and with a flourish. I’ll have to check out that challenge.

    Reply

  2. Brenda
    Jul 12, 2013 @ 17:31:56

    Wow, wow, wow! What a stunning easel card!! I love the flourish you used and love the bling!! The roses are amazing and I just love the color combo!! Hugs!

    Reply

Tell me what you think

