A Little Disney Challenge

Hi All! Welcome to another Stuck On U Sketches Die Cut challenge. The current theme: Disney.

Now I’m a Disney fan. I’ve been to Walt Disney World more times than I can count. I own a rather large collection of Disney movies, and have a number of prints, posters, and pieces of jewelry all bearing the likenesses of a variety of Disney characters. So you would think that I would have a Disney Cricut cartridge or some sort of die, right? WRONG! Yep, no idea how it happened, but I don’t own a single Disney die-cutting option. So this was, indeed, a challenge. However, I do own a number of cartridges that have a circle image on them. So 3 welded-circles later, voilà: it’s the Mickey Icon! (Thanks, Walt, for your beautiful simplicity!)

So here’s my take on the challenge:

SOUS72613a

Yep, this time it’s a scrapbook layout. I started with a 12 x 12-inch sheet of Kraft cardstock and layered it with an 11 x 11-inch piece of limited edition pattern paper by Close To My Heart. I cut the Micky Icon with my Gypsy from White Daisy and Juniper cardstocks. (I have no idea what the size actually is, I just toggled it until it filled the page.) The stamps on this page are from a limited edition stamp set that Close To My Heart released at the 2013 Convention only for convention goers.  They match the paper pack that was released under the same conditions. I stamped “Viva!” across the icon using Smokey Plum ink. I then used the new Close To My Heart Artbooking Cricut cartridge (available 1 August 2013) to cut a lattice from Cranberry cardstock. I did some random stamping on the lattice using a floral image from the stamp set and Cranberry ink. The photo mat is cut at 4 1/2 x 8 inches from Sunset cardstock. I used a Martha Stewart edge punch on the bottom. and decorated it with a zip-strip from the paper pack, a little yellow bakers twine and a metal flower (coming soon in the new Close To My Heart  Idea Book). The flowers, leaves, and decorative stamp on the tag are all from the limited edition stamps set. I added a little glitz gel for some sparkle. The flowers are stamped in Cranberry, Honey, Sunset, and Smokey Plum inks, and the leaves are stamped in Juniper.

Here are some close-ups:

SOUS72613b

SOUS72613c

SOUS72613d

SOUS72613e

SOUS72613f

I hope you’ve been inspired to create a little Disney Magic of your own. By the way, did you find the “hidden Mickeys?”

Don’t forget to go out and make something beautiful today. And if you need a little more inspiration, hop on over to Stuck On U Sketches and see what my amazing co-designers are up to!

Cheers!

v&s_sig

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Darda
    Jul 26, 2013 @ 09:08:47

    I LOVE this! The overlay looks great. How clever of you to create a Mickey mat with circles. The photo is the best. You gals look like you are having so much fun!

    Reply

  2. audreypettit
    Jul 26, 2013 @ 10:49:41

    For not owning a Disney cartridge, you totally nailed this challenge! I LOVE that you captured the feel of Disney with that fabulous Mickey shape, but didn’t go overboard on the themed look! This is beautiful!

    Reply

  3. Brenda
    Jul 27, 2013 @ 09:48:59

    What a fabulous layout! I love that you make your own Mickey head, so cute!!! Love all the layering and fabulous papers you used! Hugs!

    Reply

Tell me what you think

