Teaching My Chickadee to Fly Part 2

MHH5thgradeGradgift2

So a couple of posts ago, I showed you the bag I created for my daughter’s 5th Grade Graduation present. (If you missed it, you can see it here.) Today I thought I’d show you the actual book. (I’ve left out close-ups of the inner pages at her request.)

I purchased the album and bag together. The album is made of wood/pressboard covers and the pages are heavy mat board, perfect for collaging. For the front cover (above), I used heavy-body acrylic paint and rubbed it into the cover with my fingers. (I used my fingers to paint almost everything in the book unless it was really detailed.) The bird on the front is from one of Melody Ross‘ chip board and fabric sticker collections. It was originally yellow, but rubbed it with bright pink paint and then wiped of the excess. When it was dry, I covered it in Mod Podge. Then I added bright pink and yellow paints for some detail, and glued on a little blue rhinestone for the eye.  The rainbow is a doily I glued to the cover with Mod Podge and rubbed with heavy-bodied paint. For the clouds, I recycled some packaging from a box of chocolates. It’s the inside of the lining. I free-hand cut some cloud shapes from it, glued them on and then carefully painted them white so that they remained puffy. (It turned out pretty cool, actually.) The “FLY” letters are grunge letters by Tim Holtz that I painted yellow. A little (retired) music note washi tape by Teresa Collins and hot pink and turquoise glitter ribbon (American Craft) finished it off.

Here’s a peek at the inner pages:

MHH5thgradeGradgift8

Here’s a look at the inside front cover, which is also rubbed with turquoise paint.

MHH5thgradeGradgift3

The Brave Girl saying is from Melody Ross’ Brave Girls Club. (If you haven’t checked it out yet, please do. It’s AWESOME!!!) The white flower is from Prima and the “Live” brad is from my stash (I think it’s from an old Basic Gray collection). The yellow and turquoise layered flowers are from Close to My Heart, and the “Yes You Can” brad is by Melody Ross. The yellow and turquoise trim is from my stash. I altered it a bit and added some red bling. (My girl likes her bling…just like her mum!)

Here’s a close-up:

MHH5thgradeGradgift4

Here’s a look at the inside back cover:

MHH5thgradeGradgift6

The border strip is from my stash. Again, I altered it and added some extra bling. The “Authentic Beauty” tag is from Melody Ross’ Brave Girls Club. (Can you tell I’m a fan?) 🙂 The white flowers are from Prima and the brads are from my stash (I can’t remember the collection).

Here’s a close-up:

MHH5thgradeGradgift5

And, finally, a look at the back cover:
MHH5thgradeGradgift7

“Keep Growing” is a super thin metal sign from Melody Ross. The flowers are Prima and the brads are from my stash. (I’ll try to find the collection.) The glitter ribbon is by American Crafts.

I hope you enjoyed this little peek at my daughters “Book of Encouragement.” The rings on this album are about 3 inches in diameter, so I can actually add more pages. I’m working on a few more now in anticipation of middle school drama. 😉 She really is such a strong, brave girl. She just has to be reminded now and then. And, really, don’t we all….

Cheers!

v&s_sig

 

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Darda
    Jul 28, 2013 @ 08:08:25

    Awww. what a wonderful way to express your love for your DD. And YES, I think we all do need to be reminded. Love this Kim.

    Reply

  2. audreypettit
    Jul 29, 2013 @ 09:06:24

    Wow, what a very, very cool book, Kim! So artsy beautiful! Love the rainbow and clouds on the front cover and love that bird. So clever how you created the rainbow from a doily, and love that you recycled materials for the clouds. Your DD must love this!

    Reply

  3. audreypettit
    Aug 08, 2013 @ 14:26:47

    Just wanted to pop over to say a huge THANK YOU for your sweet comment over at BasicGrey, Kim! I sooo appreciate your kindness and support!

    Reply

  4. Leah Schaeffer
    Aug 08, 2013 @ 15:06:49

    Hey, took me some time to find the commenting spot on here! =)
    But found ya!
    Anyways really neat project! And love that Mickey page!
    Great stuff!

    Reply

Tell me what you think

