It’s a Sign…

Hey Folks! So a couple of years ago, I was trying my hand at tile mosaics and I made a sign for our family. It was a welcome home gift for my husband who had been gone for a couple of weeks. The sign turned out pretty well and I proudly showed it to the DH. Here it is:

93mosaic

He looked at it for a minute and said, “That’s really cool, Honey, but we were married in 1992….” (Of course we were, I was just seeing if you remembered….) ARGH! I STILL can’t believe I put the wrong date on it!  And so this sign still sits in our kitchen waiting for me to chisel off the numbers and re-do it. (And I suspect the wait will continue for a good long while.)

Thus, when the brilliant minds at SOUS decided to do a Borders challenge, I knew this could be my opportunity to create another family sign and finally live down my numerical faux pas. 😉 I also had a few other things in mind when designing my sign: First, I wanted to see how close I could come to creating a stained glass look with paper. Second, I love the Arts & Crafts and Art Nouveau movements and since we happened to be looking at a couple of Arts & Crafts bungalows that are for sale in our neck of the woods, I had those art periods stuck in my mind.  And finally, I wanted something that didn’t look anything like my mosaic. Here is what I came up with:

SOUS0823a

The base of the sign is an 11 x 17-inch canvas board, which I painted cream and spritzed with Antique Gold Glimmer Mist by Tattered Angels. I masked off 1/2 inch around the edges and used Gold Leaf Rub & Buff to create a border for the sign. The paper border was created using the Close To My Heart Art Philosophy Cricut cartridge. I cut it from Black, Smokey Plum, and Olive cardstocks. I adhered the Black to Colonial White cardstock and fussy cut around it. I then paper pieced the Olive and Smokey Plum into the Black and used Mod Podge to adhere it to the canvas board. The letters and numbers are cut in various sizes using the Art Nouveau Cricut cartridge. I layered  “HILL” with Olive cardstock and then painted the middle with Gold Leaf Rub & Buff. I adhered the letters with Mod Podge. Once everything was dry, I used Glossy Accents on the Olive and Smokey Plum paper pieces to create a stained glass effect.

Here are some close-ups:

SOUS0823b

SOUS0823c

SOUS0823d

I’m pretty pleased with how it came out. It has the right date and everything. Now, just to figure out where to hang it….

Thanks for stopping by. For more inspiring die cut creations involving borders, hop on over to Stuck On U Sketches and check it out. Then go make something beautiful today!

Cheers!

v&s_sig

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Darda
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 06:23:49

    You know I love this! Great style. I may have to look into that cartridge. Your story made me laugh because as we were talking about celebrating our anniversary (yesterday) Don kept telling my friends how I can never remember the year we were married. LOL

    Reply

  2. Brenda
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 08:59:12

    And pleased you should be!!! This is amazing!!! I love the border and the colors and even though I loved your first sign, I love this one even more!! Great take on the challenge!! Hugs!

    Reply

  3. Nanné
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:05:19

    Oh my word, love that border.. The color choice is spot on and I need to make myself a sign like this 🙂
    hugs
    Nanné

    Reply

  4. audreypettit
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 06:57:10

    Oh, wow, what a stunning project, Kim! Totally looks like stained glass! LOVE it!

    Reply

Tell me what you think

