Happy Autumn!

Hello All! Happy Autumn!

It’s time for another die cut challenge with Stuck On U Sketches. This go ’round it’s all about autumn goodness. I have to say, I’m so ready for fall. The weather here in DC is still a little balmy though. Oh well by February we’ll be wishing for balmy, so I’ll enjoy it while I can.

Here’s my autumn project:

SOUS101813a

I decided my door needed a new wreath so I dug through my stash of alterables (it’s a rather large stash, I have to say) and found this wreath form made from heavy chipboard. I wrapped it in jute ribbon by Close To My Heart, and went to work on making it autumn-esque.  The flower and all the leaves were cut using the Flower Shoppe Cricut cartridge. The flower is sized at 2 inches and the leaves range from 1 3/4  to 3 inches. Once they were cut, I drew veins on the leaves with my embossing tool and then inked around the edges and lightly inked in the centers.  I used Ruby, Barn Red, Olive and Honey cardstock from Close To My Heart. All of the leaves are inked with Chocolate Exclusive ink, and the Honey and  Olive leaves are additionally inked in Goldrush and Olive respectively. The flower is also inked in Goldrush.  The sentiments are from the CTMH Happy Autumn stamp set. I stamped them onto kraft cardstock using Barn Red Exclusive ink and mounted them on patterned paper from the Huntington Collection. I decided, in the end, that it needed a little extra pizzaz, so I spritzed the whole thing with Antique Gold shimmer mist.

Here are a few close-ups:

SOUS101813b

SOUS101813c

SOUS101813d

SOUS101813e

I wanted to hang it on my front door, but sadly, it covers up my “peep-hole.” So I had to come up with an alternate spot OR lengthen the jute hanger.

SOUS101813f

Here’s the alternate spot, for now–my kitchen window:

SOUS101813g

I hope this brings you a little autumn crafty inspiration! For more inspiration, hop on over to the Stuck On U Sketches site and see with my  talented co-designers have in store for you.

Meanwhile, have a wonderful weekend and don’t forget to take time to create something beautiful!

Cheers!

v&s_sig

Tell me what you think

