A Banner Welcome

DieCutChallenge-banner

Hi Folks! Happy All Saints Day! The younger set in our house is still in a sugar coma from last night. I hope your family is faring better! Welcome to a new Die Cut Challenge from Stuck on U Sketches. This time, we’re creating banners. Now I like banners, but I’m never sure where to put them. So for this challenge I decided to incorporate a little banner into a new autumn-flavored welcome wreath for the front door. Let’s take a look:

SOUS110113a

To make this wreath, I covered a styrofoam form in 2-inch wide burlap ribbon (from my local craft store) and then fashioned a large bow at the top from the same ribbon and copious amounts of hot glue. I accented the bow with Slate Polka Dot ribbon from Close To My Heart.  The patterned paper used in the flowers and banner are from Close To My Heart’s new Huntington Collection, which is perfect for celebrating autumn. The flowers, leaves and banners are all cut from the CTMH Art Philosophy Cricut cartridge. The banner is cut at 1 1/4 inches with a 1-inch layer of Kraft Cardstock. “Welcome” is stamped in Barn Red Exclusive ink using the “You Are My Happy” alphabet stamp set, which is retired. Here’s a close up:

SOUS110113c

The flowers and leaves are cut in a variety of sizes. I inked around the edges of the flowers with Barn Red Exclusive ink and the edges of the leaves with Olive Exclusive ink to give them both extra definition. I then added Slate-colored pearls to the center of the flowers for a little extra bling. Here are a couple of close-ups:

SOUS110113b

SOUS110113d

Finally, I added some sparkle flourishes for a little extra…well…sparkle. I really like the juxtaposition of the burlap and gems.

SOUS110113e

SOUS110113f

I hope you enjoyed my little welcome banner! For more inspiration be sure to visit my amazingly talented co-designers at Stuck On U Sketches.

Have a great weekend and don’t forget to create something beautiful today!

Cheers!

v&s_sig

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn Darda
    Nov 01, 2013 @ 06:21:53

    Only you could make burlap look so elegant! This is gorgeous! Loe the flower and cluster/leaves! Don’t even get me started on that bow! Just beautiful!

    Reply

  2. Kristine Porter
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 21:13:27

    What a beautiful wreath! You do have a gift for creating gorgeous bows! Those flowers are fabulous, too! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Kim Richardson
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 13:52:23

    Wow! This is beautiful! That bow is just gorgeous!

    Reply

Tell me what you think

